koh lanta and phi phi islands, thailand continued.
at 4pm we were picked up by a truck at our hotel to start our journey to lanta. we rode in a truck, a van, and on a ferry this time! it was so peaceful on this ride...


these german guys daniel and til were in our van and were also on the way to lanta.



the sun was just starting to set and the journey was very serene.


..mom. guess what! they have boiled peanuts there too! yum! i ate some on this ferry. christa got the.........fish cluster thingy.




i think this is the first sunset we actually caught!


so...it appears that lanta is more secluded than krabi...as the van was dropping us off at our resorts, it was becoming clear that the distance between each resort, and the lack of anything in between....pretty much meant......staying at your own resort! hahaha. we arrived about 8pm. it was pretty dark... we were the last ones to be dropped off as we were quite far from everyone else. our driver pulls in.....to what appears to be a shack....and christa and i almost cry right then and there. luckily christa realized that he had actually pulled into a barbeque shack by mistake and that must be our hotel to the left! whew. i was gettin worried about that one... our resort......sri lanta....... beautiful. tranquil. and serene. it was little bungalows arranged neatly across the road, while the main parts of the resort sat on the beach.....they were very into zen and harmony. and well lets just say.....i could totally feel it. when we arrived, we recieved a cold cup of water, and cold wet towels dipped in some lemony concoction. damn it was nice.

it was at this point that we arranged our trip to the phi phi islands for the next morning... i had really hoped to do a yoga class and christa an elephant trek...but our time was becoming very precious. the yoga room sat on stilts above a coi pond....and was all wood it was soooooooo perfect. unfortunately i didnt get the chance. i met up with daniel and til at our hotel bar/restaraunt for a drink or two... then went back to the bungalow to get some rest for the long day ahead. in the buddhist culture, they are one with all things living... well christa and i found a stow a way in our bungalow........one giant cockroach with white feet.... my first thought was to squish it.....but christa read that we could call the front desk to have someone remove our little friend from the room and return it to nature! how perfect.















the next morning after breakfast in the spot right above... we headed out to the phi phi islands... at this point my camera battery was dead, so i only have the shots we took with christas camera on this day!

we arrived at the main island of phi phi don, and were transferred to a long tail boat... i love these things! our tour guide took us over to phi phi lae... and maya bay... maya bay is where the movie the beach was filmed... they were actually charging 200extra baht per person to go on the beach, and from the looks of it, noone in our group really cared to pay that. so our tour guide took us to the beach in the corner, adjacent to maya bay...it was really tiny and beautiful. there was a little picnic area set up and lots of little nooks and crannies to look at. i spent most of my time there searching for sharks teeth and coral. our tour guide had brought us a homemade thai lunch of rice, green curry with vegetables...my first time eating green curry.....it tastes like saffron(yellow rice) with a spicy kick. also fried eggs, spinach and what i think were leeks and carrots soaked in a salty yummy broth, we also had fruit.......and of course coca cola! for a moment i actually felt like i was stranded in paradise. christa n me eating on a fallen tree in the sand, flys and huge red ants swarming us... this was the best part of the trip for me i think thus far. i wish i had pictures. we visited the bays and saw the viking caves on phi phi lae, and we also got the chance to snorkel. i of course did not. it was all i could do to get in the water...but christa did and i got some great shots of that! the water was so freaking clear you could actually see the fish, as i was leaning over the boat. i didnt even need to stick my head down there! hahaha! enjoy these photos.......this was truely one of the most amazing days of my life!







































the famous maya bay...



after all of this we travelled by what he called monkey island... we didnt see any monkeys that day, i reckon because they were in the shade hiding cuz it was about 100degrees. and then back over to phi phi don the big island. this area too was hit by the tsunami.


.."http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m142/donnabear75/thailand/473736358405_0_ALB-1.jpg">





after a nice light lunch and a cocktail on phi phi don, we headed over to the ferry for the journey back. have i mentioned the ferry rides are my favorite!



we arrived back at sri lanta resort around 5 or so...and when we got there, to our surprise, there was an elephant right there at the gate. i pretty much gazed in amazement....as if i could have even thought after the things id seen so far that i could still be amazed...but. i was. i decided right then and there that i did not want to go elephant trekking! i rode a camel in tunisia, africa.....but these things were enormous...i just couldnt do it, id rather just stare!





after the most perfect day, christa and i took a taxi into town...i swear it felt like we were only in it for a minute, and we paid only about 40 or 60 baht...

we booked our tickets to koh samui and went to get something to eat! the walk home seemed like the longest walk known to man, and we got caught in a lightening storm! it was still nice....... we wouldnt have time for any elephant trekking or yoga anyway, our ride leaves at 7:30in the morning for koh samui!

this restaraunt was so cute.......
No comments:
Post a Comment